image of banner for Library Development Divisionlink to Agency Home and Library Development Division Home link to Agency Home link to Library Development Division Home

Databases


Accessing databases through AZ Public Libraries - brochure


RESOURCES FOR YOUNG ARIZONANS

GENERAL RESOURCES

INDEXES FOR RESEARCHERS


RESOURCES FOR YOUNG ARIZONANS    Back

GENERAL RESOURCES    Back

Auto Repair Reference CenterRepair information for almost 34,000 vehicles from 1945 models to the present. Includes manufacturers' technical service bulletins and recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, step-by-step photographs, and drawings from the former publisher of Chilton® Information and Delphi Integrated Service Solutions. Academic Search™ Complete A valuable, comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Additionally more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings are indexed and abstracted. Biography Reference CenterFull text biographies of actors, athletes, authors, composers, explorers, significant historical figures, inventors, musicians, U.S. Presidents and current world leaders. Includes biography magazine articles and EBSCO's unique narrative biographies. It HealthWatch™This offers full text articles, from over 180 international, peer-reviewed journals, reports, proceedings and association & consumer newsletters. on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated health care. Bibliography of Native North Americans™This bibliographic database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend and literacy. Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School EditionThis is a cross-curricular suite of databases providing a wide spectrum of non-fiction fully searchable full-text content used in schools today in appropriate reading levels, and for the Accelerated Reader® program. Content is correlated to Curriculum Standards. Core subject areas include careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more. This resource caters to elementary school children's needs. Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School EditionThis is a cross-curricular suite of databases providing a wide spectrum of non-fiction fully searchable full-text content used in schools today in appropriate reading levels, and for the Accelerated Reader® program. Content is correlated to Curriculum Standards. Core subject areas include careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more. This resource caters to middle school children's needs. Book Collection Nonfiction: High School EditionThis is a cross-curricular suite of databases providing a wide spectrum of non-fiction fully searchable full-text content used in schools today in appropriate reading levels, and for the Accelerated Reader® program. Content is correlated to Curriculum Standards. Core subject areas include careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more. This resource caters to high school children's needs. Business Source® CompleteCompany profiles, financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, SWOT analyses, and peer-reviewed business related periodical resources. Consumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete™ full text database supports patients' information needs & covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine on topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Education Research CompleteFull text peer-reviewed articles, conference papers, and monographs on education administration, policy and funding, as well as on topics ranging from early childhood education to higher education, multilingual education, health education, and testing. Environment CompleteSelected full text journal and monograph articles on agriculture, the life sciences, urban planning, environmental law, and public policy. Indexes over 1,700 U.S. and international journals back to the 1940s. ERIC®The Educational Resource Information Center, includes citations and abstracts of education articles and reports, with links to over 300,000 full-text education-related publications. Funk & Wagnalls New EncyclopediaThe Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, updated annually covering an array of topics, beautiful images, brief biographies. Health Source: Consumer EditionIncludes health and medical journals and pamphlets, Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, 5,100 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets, as well as articles from over 130 health reference books. History Reference Center®History Reference Center® is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Hobbies and Crafts Reference CenterDetailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas on scrapbooking, collecting, games & electronics, model building, birding, knitting, needlework, playing the guitar and more. Includes full text craft magazine articles, videos, and overviews of hobbies from cake decorating to woodworking. Humanities International CompleteOffers full text books and peer-reviewed journals from around the world covering all aspects of classical studies, social sciences, religion, literature, and the arts. Home Improvement Reference CenterIncludes home repair videos for all projects home and garden, plus full text illustrated book and magazine articles on topics from interior design to plumbing and maintenance. Literary Reference CenterAn assortment of traditional literary reference work, poems, classic texts, literary journal articles, and critical information about authors and their works. Access biographies, bibliographies, plot summaries, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. MasterFILE PremierMagill book reviews, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, photos, maps & flags. Includes Newspaper Source and Novelist. Multilingual Health Databases17 Databases in 17 languages - Read consumer health articles and fact sheets about common medical conditions and procedures written by medical experts in different languages such as Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog (Filipino) and Vietnamese. Use the map of the body to locate articles about conditions affecting a particular part. Newspaper Source PlusFull-text articles from 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, Arizona Daily Star (Tucson, AZ), Arizona Daily Sun (Flagstaff, AZ), The Sun (Yuma, AZ) and The Tribune (Mesa, AZ). NovelistNoveList, a readers' advisory service, not only provides access to a database, but it also offers a wide range of resources that will expand your staff's ability to serve fiction readers of all ages and increase the reach of your library's program. Professional Development CollectionOffers education, administration and library related full text articles from over 500 journals. Includes peer-reviewed titles. Regional Business News™Full text articles from over 50 business and legal news journals from across the country. Local titles include Inside Tucson Business (1995 - ) and the Arizona Capitol Times (June 2006 - ). Science Reference CenterIn-depth articles from over hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, the history of sciences, physics, and other scientific disciplines. Small Engine Repair Reference CenterOffers shop manuals, standards, and reference books with photos and diagrams to help with routine mainteance, as well as with extensive repairs involving engine and transmission disassembly. Search by brand or model/engine type for resources on the engines of ATVs, boats, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, and motorcycles. TOPICsearch™Learn about social, political and economic issues through journal articles, biographies, public opinion polls, government documents, book reviews and other resources organized by popular current events.

INDEXES FOR RESEARCHERS    Back

FirstSearch: ArticleFirstIndex of articles from 12,000+ journals and magazines. FirstSearch: Clase and PeriódicaIndex of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIóDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. FirstSearch: Electronic BooksOCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide. Contains all the online electronic books cataloged by OCLC members. FirstSearch: Electronic Collections Online (ECO)An index to scholarly journals. FirstSearch: GPO Monthly CatalogAll types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments such as Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc. FirstSearch: MEDLINEAll areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.Thousands of records with substantial abstracts. FirstSearch: PapersFirstIndex of papers presented at conferences worldwide. FirstSearch: ProceedingsFirstIndex of worldwide conference proceedings. FirstSearch: World AlmanacContains Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. FirstSearch: WorldCatCatalog of books, videos, DVDs, Web resources & other materials owned by libraries worldwide. FirstSearch: WorldCat Dissertations and ThesesOCLC catalog of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries.

 

top of page

Updated:  08/06/2009/font>

E-mail website
comments to:
webedits@lib.az.us